US-KS · run world-payments-2026-07-05 v13.3.0
content: ai_generated 137 sources retrieved model claude-sonnet-5 ·

United States – Kansas

US-KS schema world-payments-v1 trajectory: not recorded

Last updated · 14 modules · 64 sourced findings · 137 sources in the cumulative register

14Modulesbaseline.modules[]
64Findingsmodules[].findings[]
51Tier-1 sourcesrun_metadata.t1_source_count
Confidence mix (sums to 14 rendered modules; click to filter)

Jurisdiction brief

Lead Signal

Kansas has brought virtual currency kiosk operators within its money-transmitter licensing perimeter, effective 1 July 2026, through amendments made by House Bill 2591 to the Kansas Money Transmission Act. Any person who owns, operates, solicits, markets, advertises, or facilitates a virtual currency kiosk in Kansas is now deemed to be engaged in money transmission and must hold a licence, with a 60-day cure window running from the effective date for operators not already licensed. The obligation is confirmed by the enrolled statutory text published in the Kansas Register and by the Kansas Office of the State Bank Commissioner's own implementation notice, giving this development a high evidentiary standing. This is a market-access event for the nonbank kiosk-operator population specifically: existing bank-affiliated payment rails are unaffected, and the change operates entirely within Kansas's pre-existing money-transmitter licensing category rather than creating a new licence type. This development carries the highest impact rating available in Kansas's payments tracker for the cycle, reflecting both the scale of the kiosk-operator population newly captured by the licence requirement and the elevated impact assigned to the accompanying consumer-protection provisions.

14 of 14 modules
Signal
Density

Selections OR within a group, AND across groups. Press / to search.

#

Kansas requires a money-transmitter licence under the KMTA, administered by OSBC, with a statutory surety bond; HB 2591 (2026) extends KMTA licensure to virtual-currency kiosk operators effective 1 July 2026, closing a prior licensing gap for crypto-ATM activity.

Movement — CHANGEDHB 2591 extends KMTA money-transmitter licensure to virtual-currency kiosk operators effective 1 July 2026.New statute materially changes the licensing perimeter for a previously unlicensed activity class.
Standing sub-brief361 words · last cycle wpm-2026-08-21

Licensing, Authorisation & Market Access

Kansas has extended its money-transmitter licensing perimeter to cover virtual currency kiosk operation for the first time, through House Bill 2591's amendment of the Kansas Money Transmission Act. Any person who owns, operates, solicits, markets, advertises, or facilitates a virtual currency kiosk in the state is now deemed to be engaged in money transmission and must hold a licence, with the obligation taking effect 1 July 2026. Operators not already licensed as of that date have a 60-day window from the effective date in which to submit a licence application, a compressed timeline relative to the processing periods typically associated with money-transmitter licensing generally. The finding is corroborated by two sources: the enrolled statutory text published in the Kansas Register, and the Kansas Office of the State Bank Commissioner's own implementation guidance confirming the effective date and the licensing mechanism.

No new data since the standing brief. 1 periodic run re-emitted it unchanged.

Sources and findings (6)
  1. T1https://osbckansas.gov/legal/kmta_2025.pdfretrieved
  2. T1https://klrd.gov/2024/12/18/definition-of-money-and-money-transmitters/retrieved
  3. T1https://ksrevisor.gov/statutes/chapters/ch09/009_005_0055.htmlretrieved
  4. T3https://moneytransmitterlaw.com/state-laws/kansas/retrieved
  5. T1https://sos.ks.gov/publications/Register/Volume-45/Issues/Issue-18/04-30-26-54119.htmlretrieved
  6. T3https://www.pillsburylaw.com/en/news-and-insights/starting-july-1-kansas-money-transmitter-act-requires-licensure.htmlretrieved

#

Kansas ties licensee conduct to permissible-investment/trust safeguarding of outstanding transmission liability, a dedicated information-security statute mirroring the federal GLBA Safeguards Rule, a 2024 Earned Wage Access conduct regime under OSBC, and a 2025 surcharge-disclosure regime governing card-payment promotions/pricing, all backstopped by the Kansas Consumer Protection Act.

Horizon · 2026-07-01 (±quarter)Kansas EWA Act information-security amendment (HB 2591) in forcein_force · TT1
Standing sub-brief281 words · last cycle wpm-2026-08-21

Conduct, Safeguarding & Financial Promotions

The same Kansas statute that extends money-transmitter licensure to virtual currency kiosk operators, House Bill 2591, layers a set of conduct and disclosure obligations directly onto the kiosk transaction itself. Kiosk operators must display an on-screen fraud warning requiring customer acknowledgment before a transaction completes, disclosing that virtual currency is not government-backed, that its value is volatile, and that completed transactions may be irreversible. This operates as a point-of-transaction disclosure control specific to the kiosk channel, rather than a general financial-promotions regime applicable to virtual-currency marketing across all channels.

No new data since the standing brief. 1 periodic run re-emitted it unchanged.

Sources and findings (5)
  1. T1https://osbckansas.gov/legal/kmta_2025.pdfretrieved
  2. T3https://www.consumerfinancemonitor.com/2023/05/22/kansas-passes-an-act-requiring-mortgage-companies-supervised-lender-and-money-transmitters-to-create-information-security-standards-consistent-with-glbas-consumer-information-safeguard-rule/retrieved
  3. T1https://www.osbckansas.gov/kansas-earned-wage-access-legislation/retrieved
  4. T1https://www.ksrevisor.gov/statutes/chapters/ch16a/016a_002_0403.htmlretrieved
  5. T3https://legalclarity.org/kansas-attorney-general-consumer-protection-what-you-need-to-know/retrieved

#

Kansas does not treat cryptocurrency as "money" under the KMTA, so pure crypto-to-crypto transfers fall outside state money-transmission licensing, while crypto-fiat exchange through a third party generally does trigger it; a dedicated Kansas fiduciary charter (TEFFI) exists for digital-asset trust institutions, and the 2026 Virtual Currency Kiosk Act plus the federal GENIUS Act now layer additional stablecoin/crypto-kiosk requirements onto the state regime.

Open gap — wpm-int-3No dedicated Kansas state-level stablecoin issuer licensing statute distinct from the KMTA/TEFFI framework and the federal GENIUS Act was identified.no under-indexing note recorded
Horizon · 2026-07-18 (±quarter)OCC GENIUS Act implementing-rulemaking one-year statutory deadlineconsultation · TT1
Standing sub-brief207 words · last cycle wpm-2026-07-05

Stablecoins & Digital Money

Because cryptocurrencies are not "money" or "monetary value" under the KMTA, an entity engaged solely in transmitting decentralized virtual currency is not required to obtain a Kansas money-transmission license; exchange of cryptocurrency for sovereign currency through a third party is generally treated as money transmission. HB 2591 amends Kansas's Technology-Enabled Fiduciary Financial Institution (TEFFI) framework to prohibit OSBC or any other state agency from acting as receiver for a TEFFI that becomes insolvent or declares bankruptcy. The federal GENIUS Act, enacted July 18, 2025, establishes a national payment-stablecoin regulatory framework with parallel OCC (federal) and State qualified-issuer tracks; most implementing rulemakings are due within one year of enactment (by July 18, 2026), and full implementation takes effect at the earlier of final rules or January 18, 2027. It interacts with KMTA's K.S.A. 9-561 provision that federal law controls where inconsistent with the state Act. Taken together, Kansas's crypto-scoping guidance, its TEFFI fiduciary charter and the incoming federal stablecoin regime form a layered - if not fully reconciled - digital-money framework.

No periodic updates recorded against this sub-brief.

Sources and findings (5)
  1. T1https://www.osbckansas.gov/cml/mt_2014_01.pdfretrieved
  2. T1https://sos.ks.gov/publications/Register/Volume-45/Issues/Issue-18/04-30-26-54119.htmlretrieved
  3. T1https://www.governor.ks.gov/Home/Components/News/News/1012/56retrieved
  4. T1https://www.congress.gov/119/plaws/publ27/PLAW-119publ27.pdfretrieved
  5. T1https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2026/03/02/2026-04089/implementing-the-guiding-and-establishing-national-innovation-for-us-stablecoins-act-for-theretrieved

#

Kansas layers a GLBA-equivalent information-security statute onto covered financial institutions (including money transmitters), a state security-breach notification law with tight timing obligations, and a distinct public-sector cybersecurity incident-reporting regime, while the Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City provides the regional payment-system-risk and account-management infrastructure for Kansas depository institutions.

Standing sub-brief116 words · last cycle wpm-2026-07-05

Operational Resilience & Critical Infrastructure

HB 2019 requires public entities to notify the Kansas Information Security Office within 12 hours of discovering a significant cybersecurity incident, and government contractors to notify within 72 hours of reasonably believing an incident occurred. The Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City supplies Kansas depository institutions with account management, Payment System Risk policy resources, and financial-condition/compliance evaluation, forming the regional operational-resilience backbone for Kansas banks. These federal and state-level resilience layers sit alongside SB44's GLBA-equivalent information-security obligations covered under Conduct, Safeguarding & Financial Promotions, giving Kansas payments infrastructure overlapping public- and private-sector reporting channels.

No periodic updates recorded against this sub-brief.

Sources and findings (4)
  1. T3https://www.consumerfinancemonitor.com/2023/05/22/kansas-passes-an-act-requiring-mortgage-companies-supervised-lender-and-money-transmitters-to-create-information-security-standards-consistent-with-glbas-consumer-information-safeguard-rule/retrieved
  2. T1https://www.ksrevisor.gov/statutes/chapters/ch50/050_007a_0001.htmlretrieved
  3. T1https://sos.ks.gov/publications/sessionlaws/2023/Chapter-75-HB-2019.htmlretrieved
  4. T1https://www.kansascityfed.org/banking/retrieved

#

Kansas lifted a decades-old ban on credit-card surcharging (HB 2247, effective January 1, 2025) after a federal court found the prior ban unconstitutional, replacing it with a disclosure-based regime that operates alongside federal Durbin Amendment debit-interchange caps and card-network (Visa/Mastercard) surcharge notice and percentage-cap rules.

Open gap — wpm-int-4No Kansas-specific state interchange-fee prohibition analogous to Illinois's Interchange Fee Prohibition Act was identified.no under-indexing note recorded
Open gap — wpm-int-5No Kansas-specific PCI DSS state statute beyond card-network contractual PCI DSS adoption was identified.no under-indexing note recorded
Standing sub-brief132 words · last cycle wpm-2026-07-05

Scheme & Network Compliance

Effective January 1, 2025, Kansas permits a credit-card surcharge only where the retailer discloses the amount via clear and conspicuous notice at the point of entry or sale in advance of the transaction, following a federal court ruling that the prior no-surcharge ban was unconstitutional. Kansas merchants implementing surcharge programs under the amended state law must separately comply with Visa's scheme rule requiring 30 days' advance written notice to the network and a surcharge cap of 3%, layering scheme-level compliance atop the state disclosure statute. The result is a two-tier compliance stack: a state disclosure mandate and a card-network notice-and-cap regime that merchants must satisfy simultaneously.

No periodic updates recorded against this sub-brief.

Sources and findings (3)
  1. T1https://www.ksrevisor.gov/statutes/chapters/ch16a/016a_002_0403.htmlretrieved
  2. T3https://intellipay.com/surcharge-interchange-fee-legislation-2026/retrieved
  3. T3https://merchantcostconsulting.com/lower-credit-card-processing-fees/kansas-surcharge-laws/retrieved

#

Kansas hosts an outsized correspondent-banking wire corridor through a small rural bank (CBW Bank), sits within the Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City's settlement infrastructure, and shows growing but still-partial community-bank participation in the domestic FedNow instant-payments rail; the state's rural banks remain materially dependent on correspondent-bank credit lines for cross-border wire settlement.

Standing sub-brief144 words · last cycle wpm-2026-07-05

Payment Corridor Dynamics

CBW Bank ran a multibillion-dollar international money-transfer business (correspondent services to ~30 foreign banks and six MSBs, ~$27 billion in wires in 2018) between 2018 and 2020; the bank shut down its correspondent-banking and MSB wire business in 2020 under an FDIC consent order, and a subsequent $20M FDIC civil penalty (assessed 2024) concerns that 2018-2020 conduct, not current operations. Multiple Kansas-chartered community banks - including Bank of Tescott, CBW Bank, Central National Bank, Conway Bank, Denison State Bank, Farmers State Bank, Goppert State Service Bank, INTRUST Bank N.A. and Union State Bank - have joined the Federal Reserve's FedNow instant-payments network. The corridor picture is therefore one of a closed historical foreign-wire channel alongside a still-emerging domestic real-time-payments footprint.

No periodic updates recorded against this sub-brief.

Sources and findings (4)
  1. T2https://www.bankingdive.com/news/cbw-bank-kansas-20m-fdic-penalty-aml-suspicious-activity-lawsuit/736422/retrieved
  2. T3https://www.nerdwallet.com/banking/learn/banks-that-use-fednowretrieved
  3. T1https://www.kansascityfed.org/banking/retrieved
  4. T3https://www.americanbanker.com/news/failed-kansas-bank-rapidly-borrowed-21-million-from-fhlb-systemretrieved

#

Kansas's payments-adjacent industry structure is dominated by an actively-consolidating community-bank sector led by Wichita-based Equity Bancshares, a large Lenexa-headquartered credit union pursuing scale mergers, several Wichita community-bank brands, and a globally-recognized homegrown fintech (C2FO); a fintech-sponsor-bank model also exists in the state (Small Business Bank) alongside a newly announced major fintech-employer entrant (Fiserv) in Overland Park.

Standing sub-brief136 words · last cycle wpm-2026-07-05

Industry Structure & Commercial Dynamics

Wichita-headquartered Equity Bancshares has completed 26 strategic transactions since 2002, including 14 whole-bank acquisitions in the past decade, positioning it as Kansas's most acquisitive community-banking franchise, with total assets expected to reach $7.9 billion after its pending Frontier Holdings merger. Small Business Bank operates as a fintech-sponsor bank planning digital-asset services but has drawn a third Federal Reserve enforcement action since 2023 - most recently a prompt-corrective-action order for being significantly undercapitalized - highlighting supervisory risk within Kansas's bank/fintech-sponsorship niche. These two data points bookend Kansas's industry structure: an acquisitive, well-capitalised community-bank consolidator on one side and a stressed fintech-sponsor bank on the other.

No periodic updates recorded against this sub-brief.

Sources and findings (6)
  1. T1https://s203.q4cdn.com/843919082/files/doc_downloads/2025/09/6b78ce64-69c3-45b1-b05d-d6ca569fc4ad.pdfretrieved
  2. T3https://www.bankingdive.com/news/equity-bank-frontier-kansas-nebraska-122-million-merger/759140/retrieved
  3. T3https://www.americanbanker.com/news/five-trends-that-shaped-the-credit-union-industry-in-2025retrieved
  4. T3https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/C2FOretrieved
  5. T2https://www.americanbanker.com/news/fed-warns-that-kansas-bank-significantly-undercapitalizedretrieved
  6. T1https://www.kansascommerce.gov/2025/04/governor-kelly-announces-fiserv-to-open-regional-fintech-hub-in-kansas/retrieved

Kansas's payments litigation and enforcement landscape is anchored by the CardX v. Schmidt First Amendment ruling that dismantled the state's surcharge ban, a $20 million FDIC BSA/AML penalty against a Kansas-domiciled correspondent bank (whose challenge to that penalty was dismissed for lack of subject-matter jurisdiction in March 2025), Kansas's participation in a nationwide $80 million Cash App settlement, repeated Federal Reserve enforcement against a Lenexa fintech-sponsor bank, and a federal criminal case tied to the 2023 failure of a rural Kansas bank.

Open gap — wpm-int-6Raw research on CBW Bank's correspondent-banking business (W5/W7/W12) was framed in present tense despite the underlying wire-transfer business having been discontinued in 2020 under an FDIC consent order, and the bank's legal challenge to the related $20M penalty having been dismissed in March 2025; affected claims in this cycle carry corrected historical/episode framing per baseline-research-challenge findings f-001/f-003.no under-indexing note recorded
Standing sub-brief185 words · last cycle wpm-2026-07-05

Legal & Litigation

A federal district court ruled Kansas's no-surcharge statute an unconstitutional restriction on commercial speech, finding the state could not show the ban was tailored to a substantial interest in lowering credit-card debt, directly triggering the legislature's 2024 repeal-and-replace of the surcharge prohibition (HB 2247). The FDIC assessed a ~$20 million penalty against CBW Bank of Weir, Kansas, alleging failure to maintain an AML/CFT program matching the risk of its (since-discontinued) correspondent/MSB wire-transfer business, including failure to file hundreds of SARs; CBW's federal lawsuit challenging the penalty was dismissed for lack of subject-matter jurisdiction on March 3, 2025. Kansas joined 47 other state financial regulatory agencies in an $80 million multistate enforcement action against Block, Inc.'s Cash App for BSA/AML compliance failures. The CardX ruling and the CBW dismissal are the state's two defining payments-litigation data points this cycle, one liberalising merchant pricing and one closing out a legacy AML enforcement dispute.

No periodic updates recorded against this sub-brief.

Sources and findings (5)
  1. T1https://www.ksrevisor.gov/statutes/chapters/ch16a/016a_002_0403.htmlretrieved
  2. T2https://www.bankingdive.com/news/cbw-bank-kansas-20m-fdic-penalty-aml-suspicious-activity-lawsuit/736422/
  3. T1https://osbckansas.gov/kansas-joins-80-million-enforcement-action-against-block-inc-cash-app-for-bsa-aml-violations/retrieved
  4. T2https://www.americanbanker.com/news/fed-warns-that-kansas-bank-significantly-undercapitalizedretrieved
  5. T3https://www.americanbanker.com/news/why-kansas-bank-failure-did-not-raise-alarms-for-industryretrieved

#

Kansas merchants gained the legal ability to add credit-card surcharges from January 1, 2025 subject to clear point-of-sale disclosure, operating alongside continued federal debit no-surcharge/interchange-cap rules and card-network-imposed surcharge percentage caps and notice requirements; local district attorney consumer-protection units actively police merchant compliance with the new disclosure regime.

Standing sub-brief123 words · last cycle wpm-2026-07-05

Merchant Acquiring & Risk

Kansas merchants may impose a credit-card surcharge only with clear and conspicuous advance disclosure at the point of entry or sale; the statute distinguishes lawful cash discounts from surcharges and flags manipulation of that distinction as a potential KCPA deceptive trade practice. The Sedgwick County District Attorney's Consumer Protection Division publicly flagged the January 2025 surcharge-law change to residents, noting Kansas has no state-set surcharge cap, leaving the card-network 4% ceiling as the practical maximum - reflecting active local enforcement outreach on merchant payment-acceptance practices. Merchant-acquiring risk in Kansas is therefore concentrated in surcharge-disclosure compliance, policed at both the state and county level.

No periodic updates recorded against this sub-brief.

Sources and findings (4)
  1. T1https://www.ksrevisor.gov/statutes/chapters/ch16a/016a_002_0403.htmlretrieved
  2. T3https://merchantcostconsulting.com/lower-credit-card-processing-fees/kansas-surcharge-laws/retrieved
  3. T3https://intellipay.com/surcharge-interchange-fee-legislation-2026/retrieved
  4. T3https://www.kake.com/home/change-in-kansas-state-law-allows-merchants-to-add-surcharge-to-credit-card-transactions/article_d5e9ab0e-d204-11ef-a55c-df5bcfaae0d6.htmlretrieved

#

Kansas product innovation spans early community-bank FedNow instant-payments adoption, a formalized 2024 Earned Wage Access product category, a 2026 crypto-kiosk consumer-protection layer, a Kansas-originated global working-capital fintech (C2FO), and a major new fintech-processing employment hub (Fiserv, Overland Park) - though the state has no dedicated open-banking mandate or CBDC pilot of its own.

Open gap — wpm-int-1No Kansas-specific open banking/open finance mandate identified after dedicated search; state payments innovation runs through federal/scheme rails rather than a state open-banking regime.no under-indexing note recorded
Open gap — wpm-int-2No Kansas-specific central bank digital currency (CBDC) pilot program identified.no under-indexing note recorded
Standing sub-brief104 words · last cycle wpm-2026-07-05

Product Innovation & Market Development

HB 2560 formally regulates Earned Wage Access as a distinct fintech product category under OSBC registration, examination and enforcement, positioning Kansas among the states codifying EWA product rules. Kansas's 2026 kiosk act layers blockchain-analytics fraud screening, live customer service and refund-rights requirements onto crypto-kiosk products, a novel state-level product-safety innovation for an emerging payments channel. Kansas has no dedicated open-banking mandate or CBDC pilot; its product-innovation posture instead runs through targeted product-category regulation of EWA and crypto kiosks.

No periodic updates recorded against this sub-brief.

Sources and findings (5)
  1. T3https://www.nerdwallet.com/banking/learn/banks-that-use-fednowretrieved
  2. T1https://www.kslegislature.gov/li_2024/b2023_24/measures/documents/summary_hb_2560_2024retrieved
  3. T1https://sos.ks.gov/publications/Register/Volume-45/Issues/Issue-18/04-30-26-54119.htmlretrieved
  4. T3https://c2fo.com/newsroom/record-breaking-year-for-c2fo-marks-shift-in-trade-finance-landscape/retrieved
  5. T1https://www.kansascommerce.gov/2025/04/governor-kelly-announces-fiserv-to-open-regional-fintech-hub-in-kansas/retrieved

#

HB 2591 (2026) creates the Virtual Currency Kiosk Consumer Protection Act, layering fraud-warning disclosures, live customer service, a $1,000 initial-transaction cap, fee caps (greater of $5 or 18%), and refund/fraud-hold procedures onto kiosk transactions; the same act separately authorizes financial institutions to report and act on suspected elder financial exploitation.

Movement — CHANGEDHB 2591 imposes fee/transaction caps, mandatory disclosures, and elder-exploitation reporting authority on kiosk transactions.New consumer-protection statute materially changes W10 standing position.
Standing sub-brief274 words · last cycle wpm-2026-08-21

Consumer Protection & APP Fraud

Kansas's Virtual Currency Kiosk Consumer Protection Act, enacted as part of House Bill 2591, is squarely a consumer-protection and fraud-mitigation statute layered onto the kiosk-specific money-transmission licensing extension. Its central consumer-facing controls are a fee cap set at the greater of five dollars or eighteen percent of the transaction amount, a one-thousand-dollar cap on an initial kiosk transaction, and a mandatory on-screen fraud warning requiring customer acknowledgment before a transaction completes, disclosing that virtual currency is not government-backed and that transactions may be irreversible. These controls target the fraud typology most associated with unattended, high-friction cash-to-crypto kiosks: pressured, often scam-induced cash-outs, frequently involving elderly or otherwise vulnerable victims.

No new data since the standing brief. 1 periodic run re-emitted it unchanged.

Sources and findings (4)
  1. T3https://legalclarity.org/kansas-attorney-general-consumer-protection-what-you-need-to-know/retrieved
  2. T1https://sos.ks.gov/publications/Register/Volume-45/Issues/Issue-18/04-30-26-54119.htmlretrieved
  3. T1https://www.ag.ks.gov/divisions/public-protectionretrieved
  4. T1https://www.ksrevisor.gov/statutes/chapters/ch50/050_007a_0001.htmlretrieved

#

W11 carries the Sentinel.gi payments-context AML/CFT position only, not original illicit-finance analysis. The federal FinCEN/BSA framework governs Kansas money transmitters and banks; Kansas's OSBC participates directly in national multistate BSA/AML supervisory and enforcement coordination, and a Kansas-domiciled bank has been a notable BSA/AML enforcement data point within that national posture.

Standing sub-brief132 words · last cycle wpm-2026-07-05

AML/CFT & Financial Crime (Sentinel.gi-fed)

This module's intelligence is sourced from the Sentinel.gi feed; illicit-finance analysis proper is carried in the Financial Intelligence Monitor and is not re-analysed here. FinCEN administers the federal Bank Secrecy Act/AML framework applicable to Kansas money transmitters and banks, serving as the U.S. FIU within the Egmont Group and setting SAR, CTR and beneficial-ownership reporting obligations binding on Kansas-licensed and Kansas-chartered entities. Kansas's OSBC participated directly in a coordinated 47-state BSA/AML enforcement action against Block, Inc.'s Cash App, reflecting the state supervisory layer feeding into the national multistate AML coordination the Sentinel feed tracks.

No periodic updates recorded against this sub-brief.

Sources and findings (6)
  1. T2https://www.bankingdive.com/news/cbw-bank-kansas-20m-fdic-penalty-aml-suspicious-activity-lawsuit/736422/retrieved
  2. T?FIM (sentinel.gi) per-JID baseline profile — United States — Kansas — Kansas AML/CFT architecture operates almost entirely through the federal BSA regime, overlaid by the Kansas Office of the State Bank Commissioner (OSBC), which charters/examines state banks and licenses money transmitters under the Kansas Uniform Money Services Act. Kansas has no independent beneficial-ownership registry and no distinct virtual-asset licensing regime; it relies on federal FinCEN/CTA infrastructure, which was substantially narrowed in March 2025.
  3. T?FIM (sentinel.gi) gaps_register_cumulative (issue FIM-BASE-GAP-003) — Gap: sourcing-thinness
  4. T2FIM (sentinel.gi) sanctions_change_register (issue FIM-BASE-SANC-003) — Sanctions: OFAC listing
  5. T?FIM (sentinel.gi) gaps_register_cumulative (issue FIM-BASE-GAP-004) — Gap: enforcement-absence
  6. T?FIM (sentinel.gi) gaps_register_cumulative (issue FIM-BASE-GAP-001) — Gap: regulatory-failure

#

Kansas presents an outsized correspondent-banking access story: a small rural Kansas bank built a global correspondent wire business (wound down in 2020 under an FDIC consent order) now subject to AML enforcement, another rural Kansas bank's 2023 failure exposed dependence on correspondent credit lines for settlement, and the Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City anchors the state's Fed-account settlement access amid a national de-risking backdrop affecting small and foreign-facing institutions.

Standing sub-brief162 words · last cycle wpm-2026-07-05

Correspondent Banking, Settlement & Access

The module's spine in Kansas is the asymmetry between bank-chartered correspondent access and the absence of any equivalent direct settlement channel for non-bank payment institutions, illustrated here through two rural-bank case studies. CBW Bank of Weir, Kansas provided correspondent banking/wire-transfer access to roughly 30 foreign banks and six MSBs across Central/South America, Europe, Africa and the Middle East between 2018 and 2020 (~$27B in wires in 2018 alone), before shutting down that correspondent/MSB business in 2020 under an FDIC consent order - a legacy access case study rather than a live exposure. Heartland Tri-State Bank had nearly exhausted a correspondent bank's line of credit used to process its wire transfers just before its July 2023 failure, having drawn down roughly $24 million of that line, illustrating rural Kansas banks' structural reliance on correspondent-provided wire-settlement access.

No periodic updates recorded against this sub-brief.

Sources and findings (4)
  1. T2https://www.bankingdive.com/news/cbw-bank-kansas-20m-fdic-penalty-aml-suspicious-activity-lawsuit/736422/
  2. T3https://www.americanbanker.com/news/failed-kansas-bank-rapidly-borrowed-21-million-from-fhlb-systemretrieved
  3. T1https://www.kansascityfed.org/banking/retrieved
  4. T1https://home.treasury.gov/system/files/136/Treasury_AMLA_23_508.pdfretrieved

#

Within the trailing 12 months, Kansas commercial activity is dominated by continued bank/credit-union consolidation centered on Wichita's Equity Bancshares and Lenexa's CommunityAmerica Credit Union, alongside a major new fintech-employer entrant (Fiserv) establishing a large-scale processing hub in Overland Park.

Standing sub-brief171 words · last cycle wpm-2026-07-05

Commercial Intelligence (M&A, Investment & Product)

On September 2, 2025, Wichita-based Equity Bancshares announced a $122.8 million cash-and-stock merger with Omaha-based Frontier Holdings, adding seven locations and $1.4 billion in assets and expanding into Nebraska for the first time. Lenexa, Kansas-based CommunityAmerica Credit Union ($5.3B assets) merged with Texas's Unify Financial Credit Union ($3.4B assets); the deal closed in November 2025, creating a combined $9 billion-asset institution. The transaction's amount was not publicly disclosed. Fiserv announced (April 2025) plans to open a strategic fintech hub at the Aspiria campus in Overland Park, Kansas, expected to create approximately 2,000 jobs across two phases beginning in 2026. The capital investment figure was not publicly disclosed. Together these three events - one announced bank M&A deal, one completed credit-union merger, and one major new fintech-employer entrant - mark Kansas's most active commercial-intelligence cycle in this dataset.

No periodic updates recorded against this sub-brief.

Sources and findings (3)
  1. T3https://www.bankingdive.com/news/equity-bank-frontier-kansas-nebraska-122-million-merger/759140/retrieved
  2. T3https://www.americanbanker.com/news/five-trends-that-shaped-the-credit-union-industry-in-2025retrieved
  3. T1https://www.kansascommerce.gov/2025/04/governor-kelly-announces-fiserv-to-open-regional-fintech-hub-in-kansas/retrieved
No modules match.

Filters combine as OR inside a group and AND across groups.

Editorial metadata

Provenance only. Nothing below gates publication or affects the render.

Editorial metadata for United States – Kansas
FieldValue
trust.lawyer_review.statusnever_reviewed
trust.lawyer_review.reviewernot recorded
trust.content_sourceai_generated

Provenance and declared absence

Disclosure model: module cards load OPEN; standing positions render in full; sub-briefs and jurisdiction briefs load as a clamped teaser with an explicit “read full” control carrying the true word count; earlier updates stay collapsed behind a counted summary. No text is hidden without disclosing how much of it there is.

Sentinel-fed modules receive no special rendering treatment. sentinel_feed is an attribution chip only: it does not suppress content, does not generate an absence reason code, and does not exclude the module from any count, filter, search index or export on this page.

Family taxonomy is renderer-level presentation config, not a JID field. Colour is always duplicated in text and is never the sole carrier of meaning.

Suppressed by doctrine: derived risk score; per-module RAG traffic light; derived_scores = {"legal_accessibility": {"per_product": {"account_to_account": "regulated", "cards": "regulated", "stablecoin": "emerging-regime"}}}.

Band honesty: uncertainty bands are computed against a frozen build clock of 2026-08-26. A year-precision row is never promoted into a tighter band.

Orphan deltas: 0 cycle_delta row(s) target non-module objects and are listed in the rail rather than attached to a card.

Envelope: baseline resolved at jurisdiction_json.baseline; 14 module(s), 64 finding(s), 154 source(s) in the cumulative register.