US-IN · run world-payments-2026-07-05 v13.3.0
content: ai_generated 132 sources retrieved model claude-sonnet-5 ·

United States – Indiana

US-IN schema world-payments-v1 trajectory: not recorded

Last updated · 14 modules · 60 sourced findings · 132 sources in the cumulative register

14Modulesbaseline.modules[]
60Findingsmodules[].findings[]
50Tier-1 sourcesrun_metadata.t1_source_count
Confidence mix (sums to 14 rendered modules; click to filter)

Jurisdiction brief

Lead Signal

Indiana's payments regulatory perimeter has moved through its first substantial modernization in over a decade, with three separate statutory regimes converging on a single effective-date cluster around January 2026. The Department of Financial Institutions (DFI) now administers money transmission licensing under the Money Transmission Modernization Act (MTMA, SEA 458), which took effect 2024-01-01 and replaced the legacy IC 28-8-4 framework. Notably, DFI guidance is explicit that virtual currency transmission was not incorporated into the MTMA's money-transmission definition, though fiat legs of virtual-currency businesses may still trigger licensure. Layered onto this base, the Earned Wage Access Act (EWAA, HB1125) brings a previously unregulated product category — earned wage access — under a DFI licensing regime effective 2026-01-01, with NMLS applications accepted from 2025-10-01 and a grace period running to 2026-04-30. The EWAA imposes a $100,000-$250,000 surety bond, a mandatory no-cost access option within one business day, fee caps of $5 or 5% of the amount accessed, disclosed/voluntary tipping rules, and DFI civil penalties of up to $10,000 per violation. Simultaneously, the Indiana Consumer Data Protection Act (ICDPA, IC 24-15) took effect 2026-01-01, applying to entities processing personal data of 100,000+ Indiana residents annually (or 25,000 if over half of revenue derives from data sales), enforced exclusively by the Attorney General with a 30-day cure notice and penalties up to $7,500 per violation. Taken together, these three instruments mark a deliberate broadening of the non-bank payments and consumer-data compliance perimeter for Indiana-facing providers, even as the state maintains an explicit non-adoption of virtual-currency transmission into its licensing scope.

14 of 14 modules
Signal
Density

Selections OR within a group, AND across groups. Press / to search.

#

Indiana money transmission is governed by the MTMA (IC 28-8-4.1), effective 2024-01-01, administered by DFI Division of Consumer Credit; pure virtual-currency transmission is excluded from the state licensing perimeter.

Movement — NEWCold-start baseline: MTMA fiat-only money transmission licensing regime establishedFirst-write cycle for US-IN; no prior WPM run on record.
Standing sub-brief211 words · last cycle wpm-2026-08-21

Licensing, Authorisation & Market Access

Indiana's money transmission licensing regime is administered by the Department of Financial Institutions (DFI) under the Money Transmission Modernization Act (MTMA, SEA 458), effective 2024-01-01, which replaced the legacy IC 28-8-4 statute. Two Tier-1 DFI documents — the SEA-458 guidance and the MTMA licensing guidance — corroborate both the regime replacement and its effective date. Within the MTMA's scope, DFI guidance is explicit that virtual currency transmission was not adopted into the money-transmission definition under IC 28-8-4.1-201(19); however, fiat legs of a virtual-currency business may still trigger licensure, preserving a partial regulatory hook over crypto-adjacent payment flows even absent a dedicated virtual-currency licence. On prudential standards, industry commentary (a single Tier-3 source, treated as Assessed pending primary-source corroboration) describes money transmitter licence applicants as needing to maintain a minimum net worth of $600,000, a surety bond of $200,000-$300,000, and errors-and-omissions insurance of at least $300,000, administered through NMLS with annual December 31 expiry.

Periodic update · new data 2026-08-25 · run wpm-2026-08-21

Licensing, Authorisation & Market Access

Indiana's money transmission licensing regime was rebuilt from the ground up by Senate Enrolled Act 458 in 2023, which repealed the state's prior money transmission statute (Indiana Code 28-8-4-1 through -61 as they previously stood) and replaced it with the Conference of State Bank Supervisors' Model Money Transmission Modernization Act framework, with licensure taking effect January 1, 2024. This places Indiana among the cohort of states that have adopted the CSBS model law wholesale as part of the broader interstate money-transmission licensing-harmonization effort, a status independently confirmed by the CSBS's own nationwide tracking of state MTMA adoption. The licensing regime applies to both bank and nonbank money transmitters conducting fiat-denominated money transmission business in or into Indiana, requiring authorisation from the Indiana Department of Financial Institutions.

The defining feature of Indiana's adoption, however, is a deliberate scope exclusion rather than a scope expansion: Indiana Department of Financial Institutions guidance confirms that the state did not adopt the CSBS model law's virtual-currency-transmission title. The practical effect is that virtual-currency-only transmission -- transmission of value denominated purely in virtual currency with no fiat leg -- falls entirely outside Indiana's money-transmission licensing perimeter. An operator transmitting only virtual currency in Indiana therefore has no state money-transmission licence to obtain, because the activity is not captured by the statute at all, rather than being captured and then exempted. This is a structural market-access fact with direct consequences for nonbank payment-institution and e-money-institution-style operators whose business model is virtual-currency-native: such operators face a licensing vacuum in Indiana specifically for the virtual-currency leg of their business, even as their fiat-transmission activities, if any, remain fully licensable under the same statute. Bank-chartered entities engaging in virtual-currency activity typically sit under separate federal or trust-charter supervision rather than the state money-transmission licence regime in the first instance, so the practical weight of this exclusion falls disproportionately on the nonbank payment-institution and e-money-institution segment of the market rather than on bank-affiliated participants.

This scope choice distinguishes Indiana from full-adoption peer states that incorporated the model law's virtual-currency-transmission title in its entirety, and it is corroborated across two independent, high-tier sources: the Department of Financial Institutions' own licensing guidance and the Conference of State Bank Supervisors' national tracker of state MTMA adoption status, both assessed at High confidence. For market-access purposes, an operator evaluating Indiana as a licensing jurisdiction for a purely virtual-currency-denominated product should not expect the state money transmission licensing framework to apply, and should evaluate whether any other Indiana or federal authorisation regime might reach the activity instead.

Outlook

Watch for whether Indiana's legislature or Department of Financial Institutions moves in a future session to close the virtual-currency-transmission gap by belatedly adopting the CSBS model law's virtual-currency title, a change that would bring Indiana into alignment with full-adoption peer states and would materially alter market access for virtual-currency-native nonbank operators. Absent such a change, the exclusion remains a durable structural feature of Indiana's payments licensing landscape rather than a transitional gap expected to close on its own.

Sources and findings (7)
  1. T1https://law.justia.com/codes/indiana/2010/title28/ar8/ch4.htmlretrieved
  2. T1https://www.in.gov/dfi/files/SEA-458-Guidance.pdfretrieved
  3. T1https://www.in.gov/dfi/files/MTMA-Licensing-Guidance-Updated.pdfretrieved
  4. T3https://www.bondexchange.com/indiana-money-transmitter-bond-a-comprehensive-guide/retrieved
  5. T1https://cdn.cocodoc.com/cocodoc-form-pdf/pdf/121832-48009-MONEY-TRANSMITTER-LICENSE-APPLICATION-State--Indiana--in.pdfretrieved
  6. T2https://www.alstonconsumerfinance.com/new-indiana-money-transmission-license-requirements-impact-business-purpose-activities/retrieved
  7. T1https://www.in.gov/dfi/licensing-and-applications/consumer-credit-licensing/retrieved

#

Conduct/safeguarding obligations sit in the MTMA plus the new Indiana Earned Wage Access Act (EWAA), effective 2026-01-01.

Standing sub-brief172 words · last cycle wpm-2026-07-05

Conduct, Safeguarding & Financial Promotions

Indiana's conduct and safeguarding layer has been reshaped by the Earned Wage Access Act (EWAA, HB1125), which requires most earned-wage-access providers to hold a DFI licence effective 2026-01-01; NMLS applications were accepted from 2025-10-01, with a grace period running to 2026-04-30. Enacted EWAA provisions, per bill-tracker records, set a surety-bond range of $100,000-$250,000, require a no-cost access option within one business day, cap optional fees at $5 or 5% of the amount accessed, mandate disclosed and voluntary tipping, and empower DFI to levy civil penalties of up to $10,000 per violation. Separately, money transmitter licensees carry forward a legacy safeguarding requirement from IC 28-8-4-33(b) into the MTMA regime: criminal-dishonesty insurance equal to the required surety bond's principal sum.

No periodic updates recorded against this sub-brief.

Sources and findings (6)
  1. T1https://www.in.gov/dfi/files/EWALicensingGuidance.pdfretrieved
  2. T2https://www.thewbkfirm.com/industry/indiana-enacts-earned-wage-access-lawretrieved
  3. T2https://www.billtrack50.com/billdetail/1766852retrieved
  4. T3https://vensure.com/employment-law-updates/indiana-enacts-earned-wage-access-act/retrieved
  5. T1https://www.in.gov/dfi/files/SEA-458-Guidance.pdfretrieved
  6. T2https://www.goodwinlaw.com/en/insights/publications/2025/05/alerts-practices-fs-indiana-enacts-law-regulating-earned-wageretrieved

#

Indiana has no standalone stablecoin-issuer regime; governed by the federal GENIUS Act; no state certification filing identified.

Open gap — wpm-int-3Indiana's state-qualified stablecoin issuer 'substantially similar' certification status under the GENIUS Act framework is unresolved; no filing was identified this research pass.no under-indexing note recorded
Standing sub-brief170 words · last cycle wpm-2026-07-05

Stablecoins & Digital Money

Indiana has no standalone stablecoin-issuer licensing regime; DFI guidance confirms virtual currency was not adopted into the MTMA money-transmission definition, leaving stablecoin issuance entirely outside state-specific licensure. Instead, Indiana's stablecoin posture is deferential to the federal GENIUS Act (12 U.S.C. 5901 et seq.), enacted 2025-07-18, which establishes a federal framework for 'payment stablecoins'; the OCC issued a notice of proposed rulemaking on 2026-03-02 to implement licensing, custody, and reserve requirements for permitted issuers. Treasury's April 2026 GENIUS Act NPRM proposes principles under which state-chartered nonbank issuers with up to $10bn outstanding could operate under state oversight via a 'substantially similar' regime certification; no Indiana-specific filing for such certification has been identified this cycle, a genuine gap pending horizon resolution rather than a settled state position.

No periodic updates recorded against this sub-brief.

Sources and findings (4)
  1. T1https://www.in.gov/dfi/files/MTMA-Licensing-Guidance-Updated.pdfretrieved
  2. T1https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2026/03/02/2026-04089/implementing-the-guiding-and-establishing-national-innovation-for-us-stablecoins-act-for-theretrieved
  3. T2https://www.consumerfinancialservicelawmonitor.com/2026/04/treasury-proposes-genius-act-principles-for-acceptable-state-stablecoin-regimes/
  4. T3https://www.mayerbrown.com/en/insights/events/2025/11/understanding-when-and-how-the-genius-act-preempts-state-law

#

DFI supervises IT/operational risk via FFIEC-aligned advisory letters, transitioning to NIST CSF 2.0.

Standing sub-brief141 words · last cycle wpm-2026-07-05

Operational Resilience & Critical Infrastructure

DFI's Depository Division supervises operational and IT risk at Indiana-chartered institutions through a series of advisory instruments: Advisory Letter 2025-03 on URSIT ratings implementation, Advisory Letter 2025-01 on Cyber Hygiene Awareness, and a Ransomware Self-Assessment Tool (R-SAT v2.0) made available to supervised institutions. This state-level supervisory activity sits against a federal backdrop in which the FFIEC Cybersecurity Assessment Tool was retired on 2025-08-31 in favor of the NIST Cybersecurity Framework 2.0, and OCC Bulletin 2025-24, effective 2026-01-01, shifted federal IT examinations toward a risk-proportionate model — a transition that ripples into DFI-coordinated examinations of Indiana-chartered institutions, per a single Tier-3 vendor source on the CAT-retirement/NIST-CSF-2.0 transition.

No periodic updates recorded against this sub-brief.

Sources and findings (5)
  1. T1https://www.in.gov/dfi/general-information/policies-and-guidance/retrieved
  2. T3https://www.myabt.com/blog/ffiec-it-examination-readiness-financial-institutionsretrieved
  3. T1https://ithandbook.ffiec.gov/retrieved
  4. T1https://www.in.gov/cybersecurity/retrieved
  5. T3https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Federal_Financial_Institutions_Examination_Councilretrieved

#

No Indiana-specific surcharge cap; permissive credit-card surcharging bounded by card-network limits and federal Durbin debit-surcharge ban.

Standing sub-brief103 words · last cycle wpm-2026-07-05

Scheme & Network Compliance

Credit-card surcharging is permitted in Indiana subject only to card-network limits — Visa caps at 3%, while Mastercard, American Express, and Discover permit up to 4% — with no Indiana-specific statutory ban or cap on the practice. Debit-card surcharging, however, remains prohibited nationwide, including in Indiana, under the Durbin Amendment (15 U.S.C. 1693o-2), the federal interchange-fee regulation regime overseen by the Federal Reserve Board.

No periodic updates recorded against this sub-brief.

Sources and findings (4)
  1. T4https://ebizcharge.com/blog/credit-card-surcharging-a-state-by-state-legal-analysis/retrieved
  2. T1https://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?req=%28title%3A15+section%3A1693o-2+edition%3Aprelim%29retrieved
  3. T4https://merchantcostconsulting.com/lower-credit-card-processing-fees/indiana-surcharge-laws/retrieved
  4. T1https://law.justia.com/codes/indiana/title-7-1/article-3/chapter-1/section-7-1-3-1-13-5/retrieved

#

Indiana's corridor position is dominated by domestic instant-payments rail build-out via correspondent channels rather than a distinct international corridor regime.

Open gap — wpm-int-2No dedicated Indiana cross-border payment-corridor statute was located; W5 coverage remains thin (dashboard-tier) relative to the domestic instant-payments narrative.Emerging-market rails and US state-level corridor divergence require deeper research beyond domestic correspondent-bank RTP access.
Standing sub-brief70 words · last cycle wpm-2026-07-05

Payment Corridor Dynamics

Indiana's corridor dynamics are dominated by domestic instant-payments rail build-out rather than a distinct cross-border regime. Pidgin, operating via the Independent Correspondent Bankers' Bank (ICBB) network, has extended real-time payments rail access to Indiana community banks through a partnership in place since October 2023.

Outlook

No dedicated Indiana cross-border payment-corridor statute has been located; this module will remain dashboard-tier pending any emergence of a distinct corridor regime.

No periodic updates recorded against this sub-brief.

Sources and findings (2)
  1. T3https://www.cbinsights.com/company/independent-correspondent-bankers-bankretrieved
  2. T1https://www.fdic.gov/household-surveyretrieved

#

Consolidating community-bank sector (First Merchants) combined with a growing Indianapolis fintech/payments startup cluster.

Open gap — wpm-int-5Private-company signal depth for Indiana's fintech/payments sector is limited to two commercial events this baseline; broader deal-flow coverage (seed/Series A rounds beyond Habits/Allied Payment Network) is thin.Private-company signals and merchant-acquiring ops below the national press threshold remain under-indexed for Indiana relative to Anglosphere/EU big-brand coverage.
Standing sub-brief106 words · last cycle wpm-2026-07-05

Industry Structure & Commercial Dynamics

First Merchants Corporation completed its legal closing of a merger with First Savings Financial Group on 2026-02-01, creating a combined entity with approximately $21.4bn in assets and making First Merchants the second-largest Indiana-headquartered financial holding company. This consolidation, together with the correspondent-banking network anchored by ICBB and FHLBank Indianapolis, and the domestic instant-payments partnership via Pidgin, reflects a bank-led rather than non-bank-led market structure for settlement and payments-access in Indiana.

No periodic updates recorded against this sub-brief.

Sources and findings (4)
  1. T1https://ir.firstmerchants.com/news-releases/news-release-details/first-merchants-corporation-completes-legal-closing-firstretrieved
  2. T3https://www.privsource.com/acquisitions/payments-fintech/state/indianaretrieved
  3. T4https://angelmatch.io/publication/top-startup-investors-in-indiana-who-fund-fintech-startupsretrieved
  4. T1https://www.federalreserve.gov/newsevents/speech/bowman20250227a.htmretrieved

Indiana has no state-specific stablecoin statute; Indiana-domiciled entities fall under the federal GENIUS Act framework, which entered active multi-agency rulemaking in 2026 (OCC, FDIC, Treasury FinCEN/OFAC).

Standing sub-brief76 words · last cycle wpm-2026-08-05

Legal & Litigation

The Indiana Attorney General joined a 52-state coalition in a $700m national Google Play antitrust and in-app-payment settlement, with Indiana consumers receiving approximately $10.5m and the state a penalty share of roughly $1.4m. No Indiana-specific payments court ruling was identified this cycle; multistate attorney-general enforcement is the principal legal signal.

Outlook

Absent an Indiana-specific ruling, expect continued reliance on multistate AG settlement mechanisms as the primary legal-enforcement channel touching payments and platform conduct.

Periodic update · new data 2026-08-11 · run wpm-2026-08-05

Legal & Litigation

GENIUS Act implementation entered an active, multi-agency rulemaking phase this cycle, generating three concurrent legal instruments relevant to payment-stablecoin issuers and their counterparties. The OCC issued a notice of proposed rulemaking on February 25, 2026, implementing the Act for national banks, federal savings associations, and qualified nonbank or state stablecoin issuers under a federal_qualified_issuer licensing pathway; its comment period closed May 1, 2026. The FDIC board approved a parallel proposal on April 7, 2026, establishing reserve-asset, capital, risk-management, and two-business-day redemption standards for insured depository institutions issuing payment stablecoins, including pass-through insurance treatment considerations for reserve assets. A joint proposed rule from Treasury, FinCEN, and OFAC followed on April 8, 2026, implementing the Act's AML and sanctions-compliance program requirements specifically for payment-stablecoin issuers, applicable to both bank and nonbank issuers. Taken together, the three proposals represent the most substantial federal legal development for payment-stablecoin issuers since the GENIUS Act's enactment, and their eventual final form will define the operative legal perimeter for the industry nationwide.

All three rulemaking actions are corroborated by independent Tier-1 federal-regulator primary sources, supporting High confidence that a coordinated federal legal architecture for payment stablecoins is taking shape ahead of the Act's statutory effective-date backstop. That backstop is set for the earlier of January 18, 2027, eighteen months after enactment, or 120 days after final implementing regulations are issued, whichever occurs first; this specific date rests on a single Tier-4 secondary source this cycle but is broadly consistent with the timing implied by the federal-regulator NPRM schedule itself.

For Indiana-domiciled banks and nonbank payment-services providers specifically, this rulemaking package is legally significant because it is arriving through the federal channel rather than through any parallel state-level instrument. Indiana's own Money Transmitter Modernization Act framework does not extend its licensing perimeter to pure virtual-currency transmission, meaning that, for the moment, the federal GENIUS Act rulemaking track is the primary legal reference point for any Indiana entity contemplating payment-stablecoin issuance, custody, or distribution activity. This is a structural point rather than an incidental one: it means Indiana-domiciled entities' stablecoin-related legal obligations will be defined by the OCC, FDIC, and joint Treasury/FinCEN/OFAC rules directly, without an intervening state-level layer specific to stablecoins.

The three rulemaking tracks also differ in scope in ways that matter for legal risk assessment. The OCC's proposal is the broadest in reach, covering national banks, federal savings associations, and qualified nonbank or state stablecoin issuers together. The FDIC's proposal is narrower, applying specifically to insured depository institutions, and is the most prescriptive on redemption-timing mechanics, requiring redemption within two business days. The joint Treasury, FinCEN, and OFAC proposal is the broadest in firm-type reach on the AML dimension, applying to both bank and nonbank issuers, and is the instrument most directly relevant to sanctions-screening and AML-program legal-compliance obligations, an area this jurisdiction cross-references to standing AML/CFT and financial-crime coverage rather than analyzing in full here. The bank-versus-nonbank distinction running through all three proposals is itself a live legal question: the OCC and joint Treasury/FinCEN/OFAC tracks explicitly extend to nonbank and state-qualified issuers, while the FDIC's standards are framed around insured depository institutions specifically. This means a nonbank payment-services provider domiciled in Indiana and a national bank subsidiary domiciled in Indiana will, on the current NPRM text, face materially different combinations of these three rulemaking tracks. The comment period closing on the OCC's proposal on May 1, 2026 is itself a legally significant date: it marks the point at which industry and public comment on the broadest of the three proposed rules concluded, after which the OCC may move toward a final rule text that could differ from the February 2026 proposal in response to that comment record. No enforcement action, litigation, or adjudicated legal dispute tied to the GENIUS Act rulemaking was identified in this cycle's research; the legal developments captured here are exclusively at the rulemaking and comment-period stage, with no adjudicated outcome yet to report.

Outlook

The near-term legal-process test is whether the three rulemaking tracks converge on final rules well ahead of the January 18, 2027 statutory backstop, or whether the alternative 120-days-post-final-rule trigger becomes operative instead, which would compress the implementation runway for payment-stablecoin issuers, including any Indiana-domiciled institutions entering the space. A second test is how the finalized federal rules will interface with state-level money-transmission frameworks such as Indiana's Money Transmitter Modernization Act, an intersection this cycle's research does not yet resolve. Legal and compliance functions supporting Indiana-domiciled institutions considering stablecoin activity should treat the current NPRM stage as the operative reference point while recognizing that specific provisions, including the reserve-asset and redemption-timing standards, remain subject to change before finalization.

Sources and findings (3)
  1. T2https://www.21alivenews.com/2025/12/22/indiana-attorney-general-shares-how-access-funds-10m-google-settlement/retrieved
  2. T2https://www.recordinglaw.com/us-laws/data-privacy-laws/indiana-data-privacy-laws/data-breach-notification/retrieved
  3. T2https://www.goodwinlaw.com/en/insights/publications/2026/03/insights-finance-cfs-yir-fintechretrieved

#

Permissive surcharging framework layered on an ISO market consolidating into national acquirers.

Standing sub-brief67 words · last cycle wpm-2026-07-05

Merchant Acquiring & Risk

Payroc WorldAccess acquired Retriever Merchant Solutions (Select Merchant Services, Inc.), a Munster, Indiana-based independent sales organisation serving approximately 30,000 merchants and roughly $5bn in annual payment volume, illustrating the consolidation of Indiana-headquartered ISOs into national acquirers. This sits alongside the state's permissive card-surcharging framework described in W4.

Outlook

Continued ISO consolidation into national acquiring platforms is the base-case trajectory for Indiana's merchant-acquiring landscape.

No periodic updates recorded against this sub-brief.

Sources and findings (3)
  1. T4https://merchantcostconsulting.com/lower-credit-card-processing-fees/credit-card-surcharge-laws-by-state/retrieved
  2. T3https://mergr.com/transaction/payroc-acquires-select-merchant-servicesretrieved
  3. T1https://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?req=%28title%3A15+section%3A1693o-2+edition%3Aprelim%29retrieved

#

Licensed EWA product category created effective 2026-01-01; instant-payments product access extended via fintech partnerships.

Standing sub-brief78 words · last cycle wpm-2026-07-05

Product Innovation & Market Development

The Earned Wage Access Act (EWAA) creates a licensed on-demand pay product category in Indiana, distinguishing employer-integrated and consumer-directed models, effective 2026-01-01 — the most significant Indiana product-innovation development identified this baseline. Separately, instant-payments product access for community banks continues to expand via the Pidgin/ICBB fintech partnership.

Outlook

Watch for how the licensed EWA category interacts with employer-integrated payroll products as the April 2026 grace period closes and licensing enforcement begins in earnest.

No periodic updates recorded against this sub-brief.

Sources and findings (4)
  1. T1https://www.in.gov/dfi/files/EWALicensingGuidance.pdfretrieved
  2. T3https://www.cbinsights.com/company/independent-correspondent-bankers-bankretrieved
  3. T3https://www.privsource.com/acquisitions/payments-fintech/state/indianaretrieved
  4. T3https://www.ibj.com/articles/indianapolis-fintech-startup-habits-lands-1-1m-investmentretrieved

#

Security-breach statute since 2006 plus new comprehensive ICDPA effective 2026-01-01 and EWA-specific safeguards; no APP fraud reimbursement regime.

Standing sub-brief134 words · last cycle wpm-2026-07-05

Consumer Protection & APP Fraud

The Indiana Consumer Data Protection Act (ICDPA, IC 24-15) took effect 2026-01-01, applying to entities processing personal data of at least 100,000 Indiana residents annually, or 25,000 residents where more than half of revenue derives from data sales; enforcement is Attorney-General-only, with a 30-day cure notice and penalties of up to $7,500 per violation. This sits alongside EWAA-specific consumer safeguards, including the $100,000-$250,000 surety bond and fee caps described in W1b. No dedicated authorised-push-payment (APP) fraud reimbursement mandate exists in Indiana, consistent with the broader US federal and state landscape.

No periodic updates recorded against this sub-brief.

Sources and findings (5)
  1. T1https://www.in.gov/attorneygeneral/consumer-protection-division/id-theft-prevention/security-breaches/security-breach-faqs-and-notification-form-for-businesses/retrieved
  2. T3https://multilaw.com/Multilaw/Multilaw/Data_Protection_Laws_Guide/DataProtection_Guide_USA_Indiana.aspxretrieved
  3. T3https://www.kriegdevault.com/insights/businesses-prepare-now-for-indianas-new-data-privacy-law-effective-january-1-2026retrieved
  4. T2https://www.insideprivacy.com/state-privacy/indiana-attorney-general-releases-data-consumer-bill-of-rights/retrieved
  5. T3https://vensure.com/employment-law-updates/indiana-enacts-earned-wage-access-act/retrieved

#

W11 content intended to be Sentinel.gi-fed; direct feed not accessible this cycle, only supervisory backdrop captured.

Open gap — wpm-int-1Sentinel.gi direct feed content for US-IN was not accessible this cycle; W11 baseline relies only on general FinCEN/DFI supervisory-cooperation context pending Sentinel-feed integration.no under-indexing note recorded
Standing sub-brief142 words · last cycle wpm-2026-07-05

AML/CFT & Financial Crime

This module is sourced from the Sentinel.gi feed. A direct Sentinel.gi feed for US-IN was not accessible this cycle; in its place, only backdrop supervisory-cooperation context has been captured: DFI maintains a Letter Agreement with FinCEN for confidential supervisory information sharing and an MOU with the IRS on MSB oversight, and FinCEN supervises Indiana-licensed money transmitters and MSBs via the Bank Secrecy Act framework (31 U.S.C. 310, 31 CFR Chapter X), with an FY2026 budget request of approximately $300m and roughly 609 staff. Full illicit-finance analysis for Indiana MSBs, including any bank-versus-non-bank supervision-gap assessment, has been routed to the FIM monitor and is not re-analysed here; readers should consult the Sentinel.gi feed directly once integrated.

No periodic updates recorded against this sub-brief.

Sources and findings (7)
  1. T3https://indianagovinfo.org/2025/10/02/financial-crimes-enforcement-network/retrieved
  2. T?FIM (sentinel.gi) per-JID baseline profile — United States — Indiana — Indiana operates under the federal Bank Secrecy Act/AML framework administered by FinCEN and OFAC, supplemented by state money-transmitter licensing under the Indiana Uniform Money Services Act (Indiana Department of Financial Institutions). Since March 2025, domestically-formed Indiana entities are exempt from federal beneficial ownership reporting, and no Indiana-specific virtual-currency-kiosk consumer-protection statute has been confirmed, leaving state-level AML/CFT capacity thin relative to federal architecture.
  3. T?FIM (sentinel.gi) gaps_register_cumulative (issue FIM-BASE-GAP-003) — Gap: sourcing-thinness
  4. T1FIM (sentinel.gi) sanctions_change_register (issue FIM-BASE-SANC-003) — Sanctions: OFAC listing
  5. T1FIM (sentinel.gi) enforcement_action_register (issue FIM-BASE-ENF-002) — Enforcement: OFAC — Zedcex Exchange, Ltd. and Zedxion Exchange, Ltd.
  6. T?FIM (sentinel.gi) gaps_register_cumulative (issue FIM-BASE-GAP-002) — Gap: capacity-deficit
  7. T?FIM (sentinel.gi) gaps_register_cumulative (issue FIM-BASE-GAP-001) — Gap: regulatory-failure

#

Community-bank sector accesses wholesale settlement via FHLBank Indianapolis and correspondent banks' banks (ICBB) amid rural branch-consolidation trend.

Movement — NEWCold-start baseline: SEA 243 gaming-winnings withholding requirementFirst-write cycle for US-IN; no prior WPM run on record.
Standing sub-brief159 words · last cycle wpm-2026-08-21

Correspondent Banking, Settlement & Access

Indiana's correspondent-banking landscape illustrates a structural bank-versus-non-bank access asymmetry: community banks reach wholesale settlement and instant-payments rails through correspondent channels — the Pidgin/ICBB partnership and FHLBank Indianapolis's Elevate Grant cooperative, which supports member institutions' capital-expenditure and workforce-development needs while functioning as a wholesale funding and settlement anchor — whereas non-bank payment providers have no equivalent institutional access point identified in this baseline. This state-level access structure sits against a national trend the Federal Reserve Board has documented: over half of analyzed US counties lost bank branches between 2012 and 2017, and more than 100 banking markets lost their last local bank headquarters, a rural correspondent-banking access-risk trend directly relevant to rural Indiana counties.

Periodic update · new data 2026-08-25 · run wpm-2026-08-21

Correspondent Banking, Settlement & Access

The Indiana-specific development in this module this cycle is narrow and sectoral: Senate Enrolled Act 243 (2026) directs the Indiana Department of Revenue to require income-tax withholding on riverboat and casino slot-machine and keno winnings of $2,000 or more, implemented through the Department's Departmental Notice #16, at a withholding rate of 2.95 percent for 2026 stepping down to 2.9 percent for 2027 and later. This is a settlement-and-withholding change applied at the point of payout within the gaming vertical rather than a change to correspondent-banking access, bank-to-bank settlement rails, or cross-border payment corridors, and it is sourced to a single T3 trade-press account this cycle rather than to primary Departmental text directly reviewed here. Because this module's analytical spine is the structural asymmetry between bank and nonbank access to correspondent banking relationships, this finding is flagged as a dated, sector-specific entry rather than elevated to full standing-brief treatment; no bank-versus-nonbank correspondent-access dynamic is implicated by this particular withholding change.

Outlook

Watch for whether the Indiana Department of Revenue issues further guidance clarifying how gaming operators should integrate the new withholding requirement into existing settlement and reporting workflows, and whether any correspondent-banking-relevant consequence emerges from gaming-sector payment processors adjusting to the new withholding obligation.

Sources and findings (4)
  1. T3https://www.cbinsights.com/company/independent-correspondent-bankers-bankretrieved
  2. T3https://www.cbinsights.com/company/independent-correspondent-bankers-bankretrieved
  3. T1https://www.federalreserve.gov/publications/november-2019-bank-branch-access-in-rural-communities.htmretrieved
  4. T1https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/0000712534/000119312525268801/d828300d424b3.htmretrieved

#

Trailing-12-month activity anchored by the First Merchants/First Savings merger and continued Allied Payment Network growth-capital investment.

Open gap — wpm-int-4Exact event date and transaction amount for RF Investment Partners' additional growth-capital investment in Allied Payment Network were not disclosed in available sources.no under-indexing note recorded
Standing sub-brief115 words · last cycle wpm-2026-07-05

Commercial Intelligence

First Merchants Corporation's acquisition of First Savings Financial Group, an all-stock merger signed 2025-09-24 and valued at approximately $241.3m, reached legal closing on 2026-02-01, per SEC EDGAR filing — the deal's rationale was to expand Indiana community-bank scale to approximately $21.4bn in combined assets. Separately, Allied Payment Network received additional strategic growth-capital investment from RF Investment Partners, with Plymouth Growth co-investing, intended to fund next-generation payments infrastructure and product development; the transaction amount was not publicly disclosed.

No periodic updates recorded against this sub-brief.

Sources and findings (2)
  1. T1https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/0000712534/000119312525216440/d83219dex991.htmretrieved
  2. T3https://www.privsource.com/acquisitions/payments-fintech/state/indianaretrieved
No modules match.

Filters combine as OR inside a group and AND across groups.

Editorial metadata

Provenance only. Nothing below gates publication or affects the render.

Editorial metadata for United States – Indiana
FieldValue
trust.lawyer_review.statusnever_reviewed
trust.lawyer_review.reviewernot recorded
trust.content_sourceai_generated

Provenance and declared absence

Disclosure model: module cards load OPEN; standing positions render in full; sub-briefs and jurisdiction briefs load as a clamped teaser with an explicit “read full” control carrying the true word count; earlier updates stay collapsed behind a counted summary. No text is hidden without disclosing how much of it there is.

Sentinel-fed modules receive no special rendering treatment. sentinel_feed is an attribution chip only: it does not suppress content, does not generate an absence reason code, and does not exclude the module from any count, filter, search index or export on this page.

Family taxonomy is renderer-level presentation config, not a JID field. Colour is always duplicated in text and is never the sole carrier of meaning.

Suppressed by doctrine: derived risk score; per-module RAG traffic light; derived_scores = {"legal_accessibility": {"per_product": {"account_to_account": "regulated", "cards": "regulated", "stablecoin": "emerging-regime"}}}.

Band honesty: uncertainty bands are computed against a frozen build clock of 2026-08-26. A year-precision row is never promoted into a tighter band.

Orphan deltas: 0 cycle_delta row(s) target non-module objects and are listed in the rail rather than attached to a card.

Envelope: baseline resolved at jurisdiction_json.baseline; 14 module(s), 60 finding(s), 148 source(s) in the cumulative register.